27 January 2020

Diane Fraser awarded IYBA's Charter Professional Of the Year

Fraser Charter Broker Diane Fraser has been recognised for her outstanding contribution to the charter yacht industry.
IYBA's Charter Professional of the Year Diane Fraser
Diane Fraser was awarded the Charter Professional of the Year for her distinction in the charter yacht industry by the International Yacht Brokers Association (IYBA) on January 25, 2020, during their annual dinner and awards ceremony.

Diane was nominated by the Charter Professional Committee of IYBA, which works to unite yacht brokerage professionals for the purpose of promoting professionalism and cooperation among members, and to promote a high standard of conduct in the yacht brokerage business.

Diane's family ties to the yachting world go all the way back to her father, David Fraser, the founder of Fraser. Her first role in the industry was as a teenager in Newport Beach, cleaning her father’s office after school. After an early career in graphic design, she joined the 158' motor yacht KATALINA to assist in its Atlantic crossing. From that moment Diane changed career paths to work onboard yachts before settling on land. Today, Diane is a key charter broker at Fraser, based in Seattle and part of our San Diego office.

Of her award, Diane said: “I am sincerely honored. I never could have dreamed 34 years ago when my father gave me a windowless storage room as my office, that I would be standing here today. My first charter was aboard a 100’ 1926 classic fantail motor yacht for $750. I thought I was rich and the road to being a millionaire was going to be easy - how wrong I was! I needed knowledge and lots of it and through hard work learned that the sharing of knowledge is powerful. There would be no charter product if we do not team up with Owners, captains and crew, charter managers or other charter brokers. This is an incredible industry; a few pitfalls along the way, but what an amazing boat ride!"

Diane follows in the footsteps of Fraser brokers Debra Blackburn and Robin O’Brien, who have also received this award in the past.

View Diane’s full bio and contact her here.